Random stuff 4/20/2017

DEMAND ACCOUNTABILITY, STOP ENABLING BAD BEHAVIOR!

By Max R. Weller

1) Another wildfire last evening, which was very quickly contained. I watched it from my campsite: Fire burning west of Boulder holding at 2 acres. I smelled smoke about the same time I heard the sirens of many responding firefighting crews. Not a chance it was lightning, and no word that a downed power line due to high winds was the cause, so it looks like another BUM CAMPFIRE out of control:

Spot fires are visible from a wildfire fire west of Boulder just above Lee Hill Road on Wednesday.

Spot fires are visible from a wildfire fire west of Boulder just above Lee Hill Road on Wednesday. (Paul Aiken/Staff Photographer)

2) Speaking of the BUMS, all they could talk about in Boulder Shelter for the Homeless this morning was going to Denver for the big 4/20 celebration there — or as Mitt Romney might say, the big Marijuana Makes People Stupid party.

3) As I left the corner of N. Broadway & U.S. 36 yesterday afternoon, a woman met me at my spot in front of the Mexican restaurant. She introduced herself as an artist, and wanted to take my photo as a guide for painting my portrait. When she asked me for some info about my homeless experience, I referred her to this blog; she was surprised to learn that the Homeless Philosopher actually embraces the ascetic lifestyle. But, I don’t think I want to see a painting of my current Sasquatch-style hair and beard . . .

4) I understand from a Facebook message that the churches who have been supporting Boulder Outreach for Homeless Overflow are NOT planning to continue doing so next winter; no surprise there. The same source also indicates that Bridge House may be closing; they’re rolling in $$$, so I find this hard to believe . . . If both things happen, I’ll shout HALLELUJAH!!

5) Counting tonight, only 11 more nights are left for the emergency overnight dorms at BSH to remain open. It’s a completely different world during the summer — quiet and relatively clean. I’m looking forward to it!

Update 4/21/2017: Ridge Fire in foothills west of Boulder under control. Excerpt copied below:

Boulder County Sheriff’s Office spokeswoman Carrie Haverfield said investigators have determined the fire was human caused but it is still under investigation.

The Boulder County Sheriff’s Office announced early Thursday morning that deputies made contact with a woman and a juvenile boy in the immediate area of the fire.

The woman had to be evacuated from the area by Rocky Mountain Rescue Group because of the steep terrain. She was taken to an area hospital because she appeared to have been suffering from a medical condition.

“It sounds like they were near where the fire started, so of course we want to talk to them,” Haverfield said. “But the boy is a juvenile and the woman has a medical condition. So the folks we want to talk to we are not able to talk to them right now.”

She added that the woman and boy are not transients. A transient campfire was blamed for the Sunshine Canyon Fire, which prompted hundreds of homes to be evacuated. 

Leave a Reply

