More fun this morning at lovely Boulder Shelter

DONATING TO A NONPROFIT IS NOT THE SAME AS HELPING THE HOMELESS!

By Max R. Weller

I’ve not yet replaced the dead battery in my watch, and with overcast skies this morning I couldn’t see the Big Dipper’s position to estimate the time, but I was pretty close as I crawled out of my burrow and walked the 1/4 mile to Boulder Shelter for the Homeless. It didn’t open at 6AM as scheduled — for about the tenth time this season one of the staff members didn’t make it to work and they had to call the backup person, who finally showed up about 20 minutes later. I don’t recall this happening in years past (maybe once or twice) but it’s become commonplace with this season’s new staff. (Do NOT ask me to explain the RULE which prevents them from opening with three staff members instead of four; I can’t make sense of it, and I’ve worked at homeless shelter / services providers in other cities.) I wasn’t going to take a cold shower (the inconsiderate bums who stay overnight would have used up available hot water by 6:20AM), then go back out into the cold; I’m struggling enough this winter with different illnesses.

It’s just barely possible that this is executive director Greg Harms’ and program director Michael Block’s passive-aggressive way to show homeless people who continue to live outdoors that we’re beneath the drunks and druggies who choose to enter the Transition Program. BTW, what you can read on the preceding link is pure humbug — I’ve known many bums who recycle through this worthless program over and over again, with nothing good to show for it.

bouldersheltersexoffender

Registered sex offender formerly in Transition Program

WHY, OH WHY, WOULD ANY REASONABLE DONOR CONTINUE GIVING TO THIS FUBAR ORGANIZATION? I say this as one who did donate cash to BSH years ago, before I wised up.

Save your money, along with your time and effort if a volunteer, and find truly worthy causes to support. Here’s my commentary published in the Daily Camera almost a year ago: Adopt a bum.

After all, our local nonprofits are committed to “helping” the worst-behaved transients from all over the country, while Boulder County’s own homeless people get the short end of the stick.

Leave a Reply

