Laid low by food donated to Boulder Shelter, and the terribly filthy conditions which prevail there

DONATING TO A NONPROFIT IS NOT THE SAME AS HELPING THE HOMELESS!

By Max R. Weller

I’m not 100% certain which one of the pretentious local “organic” grocers donated the chicken and bacon club wrap sandwiches to Boulder Shelter for the Homeless last week, because their name didn’t appear on the paper which enclosed the miserable spoiled meat which led to a most distressing bout of gastrointestinal illness (I’ve lost 10 pounds), that kept me confined to my campsite over the weekend and only now seems to be coming to an end. Otherwise, I’d publicize that name here.

The wraps were frozen, which leads me to suspect that the grocer simply cleaned out his overstock of this item by donating it to BSH. Of course, it’s entirely possible that this nonprofit is the guilty party for mishandling perishable items, and giving me food poisoning. In all other respects, BSH earns a grade of “F” for poor sanitary practices; the floors in the men’s emergency dorm, bathroom, and shower areas go for days without being swept and mopped. I’m told it’s just as bad upstairs in the women’s emergency dorm.

Then again, it might have been do-gooders like these who are the guilty parties. I’ll never know for sure.

Even so, the recent Chipotle Mexican Grill debacle sticks in my mind . . . But no, they are not involved in my case.

One thing I pledge: I’ll NEVER eat any donated food again, unless it’s from close friends I know and can trust.

I’ll stick to McDonald’s double cheeseburgers from now on — no so-called healthy food for me!

mcdonalds-double-cheeseburger

One thought on “Laid low by food donated to Boulder Shelter, and the terribly filthy conditions which prevail there

Leave a Reply

