Max’s Journal 5/22/2012

From four years ago, and it makes me nostalgic for my life outdoors:

homelessphilosopher

By Max R. Weller

Last night at my campsite between 8:30 and 9PM, as I was eating my late dinner of cold asparagus soup and potted meat sandwiches, I enjoyed a visit from two young mule deer bucks with their antlers in the “velvet” stage of growth. They were grazing in the field adjacent to my spot, with only a fence separating us. These critters, I’ve observed during the past few years of my outdoor life, have no fear of humans; this can be accounted for by the fact that there is no hunting pressure on them from our species here in Boulder, and the deer need to be wary only of the mountain lions and vehicular traffic. At one point, they came within 20′ of me as I reclined on my sleeping bag. One buck looked right at me for a few seconds, but showed no sign of alarm even as I…

View original post 557 more words

Leave a Reply

