Drunken child molester now using wheelchair scam at N. Broadway & U.S. 36

DEMAND ACCOUNTABILITY, STOP ENABLING BAD BEHAVIOR!

By Max R. Weller

Be advised: Austin Gibson now has a longer beard and looks much older.

He arrived in my neighborhood yesterday afternoon with his friend, Donna (a short Native American woman), who paused briefly to go behind a dumpster next to The Amazing Garage Sale and defecate on the ground there (I observed just enough to draw this conclusion, and it’s a wonder I wasn’t struck blind). Then they continued their slow, staggering way to my spot on the wall in front of the Mexican restaurant. These two pickled pals had been gone since the first of the month, when both received their disability benefits from Uncle Sugar — at least $1,500 combined. It’s entirely possible that the entire amount has already been squandered in drinking, drugging, and partying in a motel for a few nights.

Austin was pushing a wheelchair, and he said to me, “Look at my new ride, Max!” It did indeed look brand new. Right away, I knew these two scam artists were planning to use this wheelchair as a prop to gain sympathy and CASH from passersby on the corner of N. Broadway & U.S. 36.

Austin walks as well as I do even when he’s intoxicated, perhaps better than me when he’s sober, and the Homeless Philosopher gets by with a cane.

There wasn’t a darn thing I could do about it, legally, when these two barely human bums started their panhandling — Austin in the wheelchair, Donna pushing him up and down the median. I did yell more than once, “STAND UP, YOU FAKE!” It had no apparent effect on anyone, and I resolved to blog about the incident this morning in hopes that word will get out about these phonies.

To me, this wheelchair scam is almost as bad as “Homeless Vet Dying of Lung Cancer Needs Help” back in July of 2013.

Maybe someone will offer to give Donna a break, and push Austin in his wheelchair. Preferably, right out in front of an 18-wheeler:

Image21

2 thoughts on “Drunken child molester now using wheelchair scam at N. Broadway & U.S. 36

  1. Glowell

    I’ve seen these two on N. Broadway; in fact, the woman was pretty aggressive as I sat waiting for the light. I will be interested to see your take on the lifting of Boulder’s panhandling law.

    Reply
    1. homelessphilosopher Post author

      The City of Boulder has NEVER enforced the law in re Aggressive Panhandling, so how do they “suspend” enforcement which doesn’t exist? Only in Boulder!

      BTW, as you probably know, N. Broadway & U.S. 36 is just outside the city limits.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

