I slept soundly through the tornado, and more

A LITTLE MORE ACCOUNTABILITY, A LITTLE LESS ENABLING

By Max R. Weller

True, the funnel cloud was nowhere near my campsite, but I found the patter of raindrops on my tarp very relaxing. Read Boulder County resident on tornado: ‘When the roof blew by, we knew it was serious’ in the Daily Camera.

A funnel cloud is seen north of Longmont on Thursday evening.

A funnel cloud is seen north of Longmont on Thursday evening. (Jenn Fields / The Denver Post)

National Weather Service forecast for Boulder, CO.

I’m happy to report that the showers in the men’s dorm at Boulder Shelter for the Homeless were once again in working order this morning, so I feel refreshed besides being well-rested. I just wish that all of the homeless men would take advantage of this amenity, one that is far more important than the typical summertime breakfast of cold cereal and stale pastries:

mhgzz

FREE soap, shampoo, deodorant, razors and shaving cream, etc. are provided at BSH.

I haven’t seen the usual score of bums hanging around in the parking lot across the alley from Bridge House at 1120 1/2 Pine lately. In fact, when I’ve passed by on the northbound SKIP bus around 11:30AM there has been NOBODY in sight. Is this dump finally shut down? I’ll dance nekkid on Pearl Street Mall if it’s been closed!

I’ve seen only one mouse at my campsite during the past few nights, so the predators have been feasting on ’em. Haven’t seen any voles, not at all. Rodent numbers had been getting out of control, so I thank the foxes, raccoons, owls, and hawks for restoring a natural balance.

Just for fun, identify this John Wayne movie and the blonde:

11392814_935611219793893_1088185073513974836_o

That’s all for now, folks. Back on Monday.

Leave a Reply

