Br’er Raccoon visits my campsite, and more

A LITTLE MORE ACCOUNTABILITY, A LITTLE LESS ENABLING

By Max R. Weller

Procyon lotor

I noticed him this morning as soon as I got up, around 5AM. It’s now light enough at this hour to reveal my surroundings, and Br’er Raccoon was about 50′ away, right next to the well-worn path I use. He showed no alarm as I passed close by, within 10′ or so. Raccoons are omnivores — and rodents are on their menu — so I’m hoping that he’s helping the foxes, owls, and hawks check the overpopulation of mice and voles in my area. It does seem that the rodent numbers are much less now than a month ago; thanks to all the wild critters for their help as exterminators.

I’m sorry, but this isn’t art:

Michael Grab, of Boulder, who goes by the name Gravity Glue, makes art by stacking rocks in the quickly rising Boulder Creek on Friday, May 30, 2014.

Michael Grab, of Boulder, who goes by the name Gravity Glue, makes art by stacking rocks in the quickly rising Boulder Creek on Friday, May 30, 2014. (Jeremy Papasso / Staff Photographer)

In any case, there was never a story here in the first place! The Daily Camera failed to do any fact-checking, simply running with the overwrought social media accounts, and “Gravity Glue” himself came unglued because of a single harmless encounter with a Boulder police officer.

See: Boulder has not declared ‘rock stacking’ illegal, city officials say.

Also in the DC: Parents of silenced Longmont valedictorian still support school. Quoting from the article:

Young’s parents on Friday also voiced a tone of conciliation toward the school, where Don Young formerly served on the board of directors.

“We are unconditionally supportive of our child,” Alise Curry said. “We are also supportive of Twin Peaks charter school.

“The teachers are just outstanding, and it is a very special group of kids that are actually very accepting, and Evan loved it there. We don’t have any regrets, ever, about sending him to school at Twin Peaks.”

The parents of Evan Young seem to have a lot more common sense than those seeking to exploit his claim to be gay; and yes, I now question whether or not the young man was trying to hoax his classmates and everyone else who might have heard his canceled speech as valedictorian. What a great way to shock people’s sensibilities that would have been — but there’s too much that doesn’t add up to young Evan being what he claims to be for me to accept it at face value.

Again, there was never a story here . . . Even so, here is Evan Young’s statement (NOT his speech as it was submitted to school administration) posted to the Out Boulder website:

“My name is Evan Young. I was the valedictorian of Twin Peaks High School’s 2015 graduating class, but was not allowed to deliver my prepared speech at the graduation ceremony on May 16th.

“The school’s administration maintains that I was prevented from speaking “to preserve and protect the mission of the school.” However, my school’s mission is one of promoting tolerance and respect, and it is these values I sought to promote in my graduation speech. The central message of my speech was that you must learn to respect people even if you disagree with them, a lesson which I learned during my four years as a student at Twin Peaks High School, and I thought briefly disclosing my sexual orientation in my speech would be the perfect catalyst for this discussion.

“I understand such a revelation might be difficult for some people, but my main point was precisely that even if they don’t agree with me we can respect each other’s opinions. My friends and I disagreed about many things over the years, but we learned to overlook our differences and respect one another. In my speech, I merely asked the audience to do the same to me.

“Lastly, I’d like to make clear my reasons for bringing this to the press. I’m not angry or bitter, and my frustration at being prevented from speaking at my graduation has largely subsided.

“I love my school, and I want nothing to happen to it save that which will improve it in the long run. Nor am I doing this for publicity, or to seem like a hero. I’m not a hero, and the overwhelming support I’ve received from friends, family, and even people who I’ve never met show that I had nothing to fear to begin with.

“Rather, I’m bringing my story forward so that it may serve as an inspiration, not only to other LGBT students, but to any student who is in some way different. I want them to know they should not be ashamed of who they are. They can celebrate their uniqueness, no matter what people in authority tell them. They can achieve academic success, if they let nothing hold them back. They can become virtuous and compassionate; their differences don’t make them morally inferior. That’s what my school is all about.”

— Evan Young, Twin Peaks Charter School Valedictorian 2015

I remember very well what it was like to be only eighteen years of age; and I can see myself pulling a boneheaded stunt to make a point I considered worthy, and also to rub the noses of the powers-that-be in it. If indeed Evan himself wrote the statement copied above, he has a bright future as an attorney, and I mean that as a compliment.

A profitable weekend on the corner of N. Broadway & U.S. 36, and also at my spot on the wall in front of the nearby Mexican restaurant. I especially appreciated the Jack Reacher novel a neighbor gave me.

Tonight at my campsite: Chester’s Fried Chicken from King Soopers, and canned peaches for dessert.

2 thoughts on “Br’er Raccoon visits my campsite, and more

  1. G. Lowell

    So who were those two layabouts sitting next to you this afternoon? You did not look happy. Keep up the word, Max. I fugure sooner or later people will catch on to the homeless scam in Boulder.

    Reply
    1. homelessphilosopher Post author

      “Doris” was there for a while, dressed like a hooker, then Shouting Joe recently released from Boulder County Jail after almost a year on sex assault charges, and last but not least Brokeback Bill. No, I don’t like their company but they’re typical homeless piggybackers who will follow you around, if it looks like you know how to find good spots.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

