The latest transient-involved stabbing, and more

A LITTLE MORE ACCOUNTABILITY, A LITTLE LESS ENABLING

By Max R. Weller

See the brief story in the Daily Camera: Boulder police: Man stabbed near Eben G. Fine campsite. My online comment is copied below:

Bear this in mind, the transient-involved violent crimes which get reported in the Daily Camera are only the tip of the iceberg.

I was talking with a couple of homeless victims yesterday of violence along Boulder Creek Path in recent months — the perps were transients, of course, and are still on the loose. One victim has fractures of both cervical and lumbar vertebrae, the other has about twenty (20) staples in his scalp.

Remember, a few years ago, it was Jim Budd who suggested that Eben G. Fine Park should be designated for homeless campers. I guess Mr. Budd never gave any thought to how to keep transients from attacking each other. 

Enter at your own risk.

Maybe I should be worried about hantavirus, because rodents (both mice and voles) are all around my campsite. It might even be the illness I suffered back at the beginning of October, 2014. Another source on the Internet states that hantavirus infection has a 38% mortality rate, but In my case it never progressed to affecting my lungs, if that’s what it was. The other symptoms are pretty general, and it was probably just a bout with intestinal flu, albeit a very serious one. I called it my near-death experience on this blog.

Another advantage of a Tiny House would be the ease of keeping rodents OUT, but it doesn’t seem to be in the cards for me. Still, camping outdoors is better than being in any homeless shelter, where diseases of all kinds are also being spread — by two-legged vermin.

Tonight at my campsite: A 1.75L jug of rotgut vodka and a case of cheap beer. Or maybe NOT.

Leave a Reply

