Cannabis-free 4/20, and more

A LITTLE MORE ACCOUNTABILITY, A LITTLE LESS ENABLING

By Max R. Weller

See the story in the Daily Camera: After 3 years of 4/20 closures, CU’s Boulder campus open to public today.

Marijuana smoke rises from Norlin Quad during the 4/20 celebration at the University of Colorado on April 20, 2010.

Marijuana smoke rises from Norlin Quad during the 4/20 celebration at the University of Colorado on April 20, 2010. (Mark Leffingwell / Staff Photographer )

What a ridiculous photo to run on 4/20/2015! I walked across Norlin Quad to the library this morning shortly before 8AM — there were no geriatric hippies, unwashed transients from Denver and elsewhere looking to score FREE WEED, or troublemakers of any other kind. Only the portion of Norlin Quad nearest the library was roped off, but nobody was there to chase people away. GET IT THROUGH THE CANNABIS FOG IN YOUR HEAD: 4/20 PARTYING IS HISTORY AT THIS VENUE.

At my age, this is what I dream about: Bacon-Wrapped Meatloaf. Of course, I’d be happy to share with someone like this:

5nkam

Helle Thorning-Schmidt

I was able to spread all of my camping gear out to dry yesterday morning, and enjoyed a restful sleep last night. It was snowing when I got up at 5AM, but only a trace amount fell.

I enjoyed this novel over the weekend: Bones Never Lie by Kathy Reichs. As is my habit with all of the paperbacks I buy at King Soopers, I donated it to Boulder Shelter for the Homeless after I was done. There’s a scarcity of books at BSH these days, so if you want to donate a few please do so by following these directions.

Can you identify both actors and the movie from the photo below? It’s one of my favorite westerns:

Can you identify the make of revolver? Clue: It’s NOT a Colt. (Okay, you have to be a gun nut like me . . .)

Tonight at my campsite: deli-sliced turkey sandwiches, on white bread with Dijon mustard.

2 thoughts on “Cannabis-free 4/20, and more

Leave a Reply

