The mule deer visit my campsite overnight, and more

 A LITTLE MORE ACCOUNTABILITY, A LITTLE LESS ENABLING

By Max R. Weller

I peeked out from underneath my tarp once during the course of the night, and saw a couple of does grazing within about 20′ of my burrow. Then, when I got up to start my day at 5AM, there were at least six mule deer sharing the small field where I live. As usual, they paid no attention to me; the critters of all species have grown comfortable with my presence over the course of the past seven years.

Odocoileus hemionus

BTW, the sky looked like it was ready for a downpour at that early hour, but nothing came of it. The fresh air scented with rain was refreshing — too bad it was ruined when I got over to Boulder Shelter for the Homeless by the stinking tobacco addicts smokin’ up a storm.

I sometimes read the syndicated column of Leonard Pitts Jr. in order to gain a broader understanding on issues of race; his perspective is what it is, and I don’t take exception to it. I have to wonder how he felt about being almost all alone as a person of color at CU’s Conference on World Affairs, where he delivered the keynote address yesterday:

The traditional Conference on World Affairs opening procession is seen on Monday, with, from left to right, Arts & Sciences Dean Steven Leigh, CWA

The traditional Conference on World Affairs opening procession is seen on Monday, with, from left to right, Arts & Sciences Dean Steven Leigh, CWA Director John Griffin, keynote speaker Leonard Pitts, CWA Chair Jane Butcher and Chancellor Phil DiStefano. See more photos and video at dailycamera.com. (Paul Aiken / Staff Photographer)

I understand that the CWA policy is not to invite speakers from within Colorado to participate, but if this is ever changed the Homeless Philosopher will be delighted to debate homelessness with local do-gooders running the worthless nonprofits in Boulder, CO.

Read Flatirons Church to lease Paramount Theatre for Denver services, also in the Daily Camera. My online comment is copied below:

I’m an agnostic, and I couldn’t care less if Flatirons Community Church wishes to expand. It neither threatens me nor benefits me in any way, and is frankly nobody else’s business.

Tonight at my campsite: meatball sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

