Irony defined at CU’s Norlin Library, and more

A LITTLE MORE ACCOUNTABILITY, A LITTLE LESS ENABLING

By Max R. Weller

> As I had nearly completed my morning stroll across CU’s Norlin Quad, and was once again perplexed by the display of Pink Crosses near Norlin Library, I spotted something new: two sandwich boards had been set up by the west library entrance proclaiming that CU is a SMOKE-FREE campus. All around were cigarette butts; it seems to me that it would have been wiser to clean up the smokers’ trash first, before announcing anything SMOKE-FREE. I’m glad that CU is trying, anyway.

> Great column by Sean Maher, which I just noticed this morning, What is Boulder afraid of? As for me, I’m delighted by both residential and commercial development I see, except for the Wet House at 1175 Lee Hill.

> Read this commentary in the Daily Camera, Colorado homeless deserve Right to Rest bill. My online comment is copied here:

What does this mean, a RIGHT to rest?

Nancy Peters asks, “What are your chances of being harassed, ticketed or arrested in Colorado for simply trying to exist as an unhoused person?” For me, the answer is ZERO despite the fact that I’ve lived as a homeless man in the same north Boulder neighborhood for over seven years.

I have no difficulty at all with either law enforcement or with my neighbors in my daily life; this is because I don’t behave in a drunken, obnoxious, self-centered way which is calculated to attract the attention of the authorities as a de facto form of protest. I speak out directly to issues which concern me, and do-gooders coddling the small minority of homeless people who are (in effect) giving society the finger is of GREAT CONCERN.

A pox on the bad actors who make all of us look like bums, and another pox on their apologists/enablers who are making homelessness into an industry that perpetuates the problem, neither “ending” it nor effectively “addressing” it.

> Meme of the day:

j3bsu

No, not at all. Greg Harms does make $90,000 per year as executive director of Boulder Shelter for the Homeless, however, so why shouldn’t he be happy? Cute blonde, too.

> I usually don’t go for novels that deal with the paranormal, but I just finished “The City” by Dean Koontz. There is one passage in this book which really got my attention, on pages 160-161 of the paperback version, and it’s copied below (for purposes of my review here, of course):

Back then, I had a narrow definition of heroism. My conclusion that Mr. Yoshioka lacked courage arose from ignorance, as later I would learn. After you have suffered great losses and known much pain, it is not cowardice to wish to live henceforth with a minimum of suffering. And one form of heroism, about which few if any films will be made, is having the courage to live without bitterness when bitterness is justified, having the strength to persevere even when perseverance seems unlikely to be rewarded, having the resolution to find profound meaning in life when it seems the most meaningless.

Wow! Great piece of writing.

Have a good weekend, everybody! Back on Monday.

One thought on “Irony defined at CU’s Norlin Library, and more

Leave a Reply

