Faux compassion and horse pucky

A LITTLE MORE ACCOUNTABILITY, A LITTLE LESS ENABLING

By Max R. Weller

You’ll note that I’ve changed my slogan (above). I did so after seeing what local do-gooders at Boulder Shelter for the Homeless and BOHO had posted on their Facebook pages:

10430895_10152462995587470_4119451186137935603_n

It’s no wonder the worst-behaved transients from Denver and elsewhere are running things at our homeless shelter/services providers, if those who should be in charge are afraid to take the reins. It’s as if the do-gooders really believe in their hearts that homeless folks in general can’t be expected to show respect for themselves, respect for others, and respect for the community.

I’ve got NEWS for you: 80% of us do just that, on a daily basis, but very few notice. That’s understandable; stabbings, sexual assaults, deaths due to alcohol poisoning and/or drug overdose, etc. are what the media reports, along with the condescending views of Isabel McDevitt, Joy Eckstine Redstone, et al.

Some of the wealthy white elites in our fair city still try to tell me that I don’t understand the issue of homelessness as it presents itself here in Boulder, CO. In a few cases, they’re quite angry that I dare to express my viewpoint, contradicting the conventional [stupidity]. So, they stumble along in darkness, writing big checks to local nonprofits, convinced that doing so entitles them to FEEL GOOD about themselves.

No matter . . . The wisest and most kindhearted Boulderites I’ve met during my time here, almost seven years now, are members of the working poor and the middle classes. It’s certainly been an eye-opener for me, and I’m grateful for their support.

I also appreciate the occasional celebrity endorsement:

ggp6p

Hard to beat brains and beauty together (Ms. Alba is a successful businesswoman).

That’s all for now.

2 thoughts on “Faux compassion and horse pucky

  1. Brian Wilburn

    First Presbyterian has allowed the homeless into church during Sunday mornings for coffee, but they increasingly took over our space. Last Sunday we had to call the cops twice, and the custodial staff was threatened. We allowed them in for the sake of compassion, but now have had to kick out everybody who doesn’t want to attend service/fellowship with us. Sounds like discrimination to the do-gooders I bet, but we don’t want our parishioners and their children to be put in a bad situation because of these guys.
    Sorry for all the good guys.
    (This comment is made by a former street drunk who was always respectful of the institutions who were trying to be of service to us and who has returned to normal human society for the past eight years. And I did not have BOHO, etc. I slept outside in 10 degree weather sometimes. I could not go to the shelter, either, since I had my dog. These guys have it good).
    (PS most of my old friends are dead now, and nobody ever held a memorial service for them. At least the residents of 1175 can die inside of alcohol poisoning rather than exposure).
    Keep up the good work, Homey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

