Return to Boulder, CO and more

DONATING TO A NONPROFIT IS NOT THE SAME AS HELPING THE HOMELESS!

By Max R. Weller

After a week recuperating at a secret location in nearby Longmont, my friend Dan dropped me off at my campsite in north Boulder yesterday morning. It seemed only natural that some bum I’d never seen before was lying in the ditch on the other side of the barbed-wire fence from my camping gear, but I’m happy to report that nothing had been disturbed. It was wet, however, from rain a week ago. I spread everything out to dry in the sun and gentle breeze, added a couple of new tarps to replace the old, along with a comforter from Walmart, and when I reassembled my “bed” and crawled into it early in the evening it proved to be most comfortable.

At my shady spot in front of the Mexican restaurant across the street, I found that the bums had once again, during my absence, started to toss their empty beer bottles around. I brought over a trash bag from my campsite and collected those I could reach, and “Sally” picked up a couple that were down in the ditch when she came by to visit later on.

Apparently, not much has been going on at the corner of N. Broadway & U.S. 36 — which is a positive. I still don’t quite feel like standing there, flying the little sign I’ve had for the past four years, but Sally and anyone else who can behave decently while panhandling is welcome to do so. Characters like Drunk Brian (gone back to Michigan), Shouting Joe from St. Louis (in Boulder County Jail for three felony counts of Sex Assault), and the Denver King (who may have left the state after failing to appear in court on a Harassment charge) need never return to our peaceful neighborhood.

I went over to Boulder Shelter for the Homeless at 5PM to see how many transients were there for intake on the first night of the season, and also to put away some new clothes in my locker. Didn’t appear to be very many, maybe a dozen, but this was before the Free Bus from downtown arrived. When I went back to BSH this morning at 6AM, it still wasn’t much of a crowd compared to what you’ll see in December and January, and the rule that limits anyone to just 90 nights during the course of the 6-month season probably will lead many transients to save their nights during this Indian Summer of October.

Greg Harms, executive director of BSH, was on hand in case the media showed up. I don’t think they did. I’ve often said that an “undercover” reporter should spend a night or two in this facility; the resulting story would open the eyes of a lot of people here in Boulder, who mistakenly assume that any nonprofit must be on the side of the angels. LOL!

Well, the KC Royals have swept the Baltimore Orioles in the ALCS, and are returning to the World Series for the first time since winning it in 1985. No sober person could have predicted this at the beginning of the 2014 baseball season, but here we are. Right now, their probable opponent is the San Francisco Giants, who hold a 3-1 games lead over the Cardinals in the NLCS.

1903019_10152461033283691_8041239479830350736_n

Kansas City Royals on Facebook

Tonight at my campsite: unhealthy goodies from King Soopers, including Halloween treats.

One thought on “Return to Boulder, CO and more

Leave a Reply

