Only in Boulder, I kid you not, and more

By Max R. Weller

The runner up in the first "Poop Fairy" photo contest in August. Boulder is hosting a costumed dog photo shoot Saturday to promote its new dog

The runner up in the first “Poop Fairy” photo contest in August. Boulder is hosting a costumed dog photo shoot Saturday to promote its new dog waste composting program at three area trailheads. (City of Boulder)

See Boulder hosting ‘There’s No Such Thing as the Poop Fairy’ dog photo shoot in the Daily Camera.

America’s Smartest City, indeed . . .

Here’s a Facebook photo of the recent Lexington (MO) High School Class of 1974 40th reunion:

10569104_1459624140980088_8115660073442066734_n

No, I wasn’t invited, and I can’t recall being invited since the 10th reunion back in 1984, which I didn’t attend. Honestly, I can’t recognize a single classmate pictured above, so I guess it’s just as well that I’m a pariah . . . Not much different now than when I resided in the old hometown and attended LHS.

Another rainy spell is upon us, and there may even be snow in the next couple of days. I wish that Boulder Shelter for the Homeless would once again dedicate a coffeemaker for boiling hot water only, so I could make ramen noodles in my Thermos to take along for a hot lunch outdoors. Seems like more than they can handle — plugging in an extra coffeemaker — and I’ll grant you that fixing the half dozen or so broken showers in the men’s bathroom should have a higher priority, since these have been out of order for almost two years. Where are your donations of $$$ going, anyway?

Tonight at my campsite: New England clam chowder, a delicacy even from a can.

2 thoughts on “Only in Boulder, I kid you not, and more

  1. SpiffyHeart

    Good grief Max! Looking at all those bald headed men from class 1974, makes me wonder what the 1965 looks like!! I was invited to the 10th class reunion (1975) which was held at the Wentworth Country Club. Weeks later, I wondered why NONE of my black classmates attended. I was hoping to see several of them specifically!

    I was told that the country club had a policy of “no black” membership. I think (it’s been a long time!) I wrote a letter to the editor in the Lexington paper about it. Not sure it was published or not. That’s the last time I got an invite LOL :-)))))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

