Max’s Journal 8/15/2014

By Max R. Weller

A lengthy rain yesterday afternoon in my north Boulder neighborhood, lasting over an hour, and I got soaked after my shade tree could no longer provide protection. No matter, it was warm and I dripped dry while playing the role of humble beggar on the corner of N. Broadway & U.S. 36 (passersby were again generous to me, $28 total in 1 hour and 20 minutes along with food and beverage). My camping gear remained dry underneath my newest tarp, and it was good sleeping weather overnight. I was awakened once by the roaming raccoons’ grunting, but this is nothing compared to what one can hear in the emergency overnight dorm at Boulder Shelter for the Homeless — snoring, farting, belching, hacking and coughing, bums yelling and fighting in their sleep, people wandering around at all hours, etc. I’m very happy to sleep outdoors for most of the year, with an occasional vacation indoors at a secret location in another city.

A rustic cabin like this would be Heaven to me:

486202_503247116375824_905477599_n

Credit: Mountain Man Times on Facebook 

Is the Homeless Philosopher the most hated homeless man in Boulder, CO? I think so, because the do-gooders and the homeless sheep who follow them simply can’t stand that I tell it like it is.

I’m told that the small town of Nederland and adjacent forests have been overrun by members of the Rainbow Family of Living [Stink], who are becoming increasingly violent, addicted to methamphetamine, and harassing residents by knocking on doors and asking for stuff in a belligerent manner. All you need to know is that convicted rapist and darling of Boulder do-gooders and the Daily Camera, Jim Budd, belonged to this collection of the dregs of humanity for 25 years (according to Budd himself).

Although I haven’t confirmed it, I understand that about 250 chronically homeless single adult substance abusers — with a dual diagnosis of mental illness — have expressed interest in becoming residents at the $6 million 31-unit Housing First project at 1175 Lee Hill here in Boulder, next door to the existing homeless shelter at 4869 N. Broadway. Of these 250, less than 50 are residents of Boulder County. Some time ago, I sat in a focus group over at Boulder Housing Partners and listened to Betsey Martens (BHP) and Greg Harms (BSH) assure everyone present that only local homeless people would qualify for residency in these expensive new apartments. We shall see . . . How can you tell when they’re lying? Their lips are moving!

Meanwhile, Boulder’s powers-that-be continue to ignore the best option for housing the hundreds of homeless single adults in Boulder County: tiny house communities.

Tonight at my campsite: mashed potatoes and gopher gravy.

Leave a Reply

