Max’s Journal 5/9/2014

By Max R. Weller

Well, my plans to dry out my camping gear were foiled yesterday afternoon by a very brief but heavy downpour around 2PM in my north Boulder neighborhood. Before I could get over to my campsite from my spot in front of the Mexican restaurant in the 4900 block of N. Broadway, the sleeping bag, blankets, and pillow were soaked. There was never another chance to use the sun’s evaporative power yesterday, and I spent a restless night in wet gear — although the wool disaster blankets did retain my body heat. Maybe I’ll have better luck this afternoon, considering the National Weather Service forecast. If not, it’s still better sleeping in wet bedding outdoors than in a bunk in a bedbug-infested homeless shelter. After all, the sun will come out again sooner or later; bedbugs (along with snoring, farting, etc.) are FOREVER.

It reminded me of the time back in 2010 when I camped on private property right next to the Silver Lake irrigation ditch, which was flowing at the time, and a soaking rain set in that lasted for hours. The ground became saturated (as it is now) and the ditch began overflowing, too. I awakened when waters were creeping underneath my tarp, and in the process of moving farther away all of my gear got soaked. The rest of that night remains memorable for its misery.

I now have $330 in my coffee jar savings kept in my small locker at Boulder Shelter for the Homeless. However, I refuse to be tempted to spend any of it on a motel room just because we’re in a rainy period.

We must have faith in the meaning of the Rainbow:

Where is the new director of Boulder Public Library these days? I can’t remember his name, but he’s been MIA throughout the whole YES! controversy, even as City Manager Jane Brautigam made this idiotic statement at the very start: “The iconic image of Yes! will be a must-see for visitors to Boulder, and a legacy to our growing collection of public art.”

Ahem . . . A BPL Director with any moxie would have challenged Jane’s warped vision right then, politely and in private, but challenged it nonetheless. Thank goodness the Boulder City Council, in a rare display of common sense, pressured the City Manager to end her YES! wet dream. Here’s an “iconic image” for you, Jane, and I’ve suggested it ought to be named in your honor:

10329757_10152347746266827_4000635083546586580_o

Orangutan sculpture on loan to BPL and displayed at entrance to Canyon Gallery

Tonight at my campsite: beef corn dogs with ketchup and mustard.

3 thoughts on “Max’s Journal 5/9/2014

  1. pimom1

    This “Yes” campaign is never ending comedy for your blog!! I’m sure it will attract visitors…..just to see the idiocy!

    Reply
  2. Terzah

    I’m so sorry you were wet! I’d invite you over but we have in-laws here again this weekend. It’s supposed to snow tomorrow (as I’m sure you know)–if you need help securing that hotel after all, let me know. I’ll be at work as usual on Sunday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

