Max’s Journal 3/22/2014

By Max R. Weller

A few mornings back, in the day room at Boulder Shelter for the Homeless, I overheard two geezer potheads talking about the upcoming 4/20 celebration on CU’s Norlin Quad. They seemed to be quite excited at the prospect of FREE WEED and partying with thousands of other stoned idiots. Of course, they’re 3 years too late to participate in such nonsense, but I didn’t burst their bubble by telling ’em so. I’ll leave that to law enforcement officers who will be present on campus that day — 4/20/2014.

I’ve been wondering why transients keep flocking to Boulder, CO. Nobody who comes here is being greeted with a Hippie Paradise, and resources for the homeless are stretched to the breaking point, along with residents’ and city officials’ patience. The bums/”travelers”/Rainbow Family members must be relying on sources of information as out-of-date as the ones the geezer potheads above did.

Consider this post from the July, 2013 archives: If you’re homeless, don’t come to Boulder, CO.

travelers with dogs

No snow overnight, but it was cold and windy when I poked my head out from under the tarp around 5:10AM. Recent predictions of rain mixed with snow haven’t come true, so perhaps we’re in for a dry year.

It was slow going on the corner of N. Broadway & U.S. 36 yesterday afternoon. It took me 4 hours to make $31, when I can usually do better than $10 per hour, sometimes much better. At least I was left alone in the neighborhood; no Denver King or Shouting Joe bugging me. In any case, I’ve treated myself to Price’s Pimiento Cheese Spread and a loaf of potato bread from King Soopers.

That’s all for now.

Leave a Reply

