Most pampered transients in America, and more

By Max R. Weller

You’ll find ’em right here in Boulder, CO.

Example of pampering: the FREE BUS operated by Via (yet another local nonprofit) on weekdays, which takes the bums from Boulder Shelter for the Homeless to 11th & Walnut downtown at 8AM, and then reverses the route at 5PM from 11th & Walnut to BSH. I stuck around the neighborhood long enough this morning — after catching a Denver bum prowling around my nearby campsite — to watch how many transients used this service; it seemed to be about two dozen. Most appeared to be healthy enough to walk both ways. But, if not, all you would have to do is get a piece of scrap cardboard from a dumpster, borrow a marker, print the two words “Bus Fare”, wait for generous passersby to hand you some cash, and then board the SKIP bus like an ordinary citizen. There is no good reason whatsoever for Via to provide a FREE BUS, and I don’t believe you’ll find anything like this elsewhere in America. It’s no wonder the transients who flock to our fair city become so arrogant and self-entitled; it’s like nobody here besides the Homeless Philosopher wants ’em to have to lift a finger to do anything.

BTW, the thieving Denver POS referred to above tried to tell me he was looking for cash blown away from the Bustop Gentleman’s Club. Yeah, right.

The cold temps overnight did wonders for my chronic bad hip, which I’d aggravated in a slip-and-fall while showering in the pigsty of BSH yesterday morning. I’m not going to complain about a minor case of sniffles, also due to the wintry conditions. The National Weather Service predicts snow for today, by 2PM, but I’ll just crawl into my burrow early with a foot long Subway meatball sandwich. I might even share it with Ms. Cattrall if she drops by.

I finished reading Dickens’ “Great Expectations” and I have to say that I much preferred his original ending to the revised version (both were included in the paperback I had). Pip was an imperfect human being, but a work in progress; I don’t think there could be any hope for the object of his adoration, Estella. Pip is better off a lifelong bachelor . . .

That’s all for now.

Leave a Reply

