Max’s Journal 1/23/2014

By Max R. Weller

I took a week off, not because I wanted to do so, but in order to keep an eye on my camping gear in north Boulder. Almost every morning, transients will leave Boulder Shelter for the Homeless and begin wandering around the neighborhood, peering into bushes, looking behind walls, and scouring the general area for OTHER PEOPLE’S PROPERTY.

I’ve also been sick with the typical BSH kennel cough since last Friday; just a brief exposure to those germs in the morning during my shower is all it took to lay me low. Sleeping outdoors in the fresh air is helping, despite the cold temps.

I’m always happy to get mail at BSH. I had a kind note this morning from someone I’ve never met in person, who enclosed a pair of $20 bills for life’s necessities. Obviously, I haven’t been able to play humble beggar on the corner of N. Broadway & U.S. 36 during my illness.

I’ve read three bad novels during the past week, including one by a French author. I don’t know what has happened to the supply of books which used to be available in the TV room at the shelter, but pickings are slim these days.

I learned long ago to disregard news spread by any homeless person, but I’m told that Boulder City Council is taking a closer look the idea of nonprofits requiring valid photo ID showing a Boulder County address before one can have access to shelter/services. Bridge House, BSH, and others could be doing this already if it was their desire to use scarce resources exclusively for the benefit of locals who are in need — but this would cramp their style of pointing to hundreds of transients from Denver and all across America to advance their pleading for more $$$ from both public and private funding sources. Bunch of greedy bastards, in my book.

Speaking of books, I’ll use this opportunity to again urge readers of this blog to pick up a copy of Bowling for Bums: My Life as a Charity Whore. It’s a short but interesting revelation of how some local nonprofits operate in terms of fundraising.

Shocking news: Justin Bieber has been arrested for DUI in a rented Lamborghini! Gaze upon the grinning idiot’s mug shot; maybe it’s time for us to give Dennis Rodman a break.

Leave a Reply

