Max’s Journal 1/6/2014

By Max R. Weller

The National Weather Service website claims, at 7:30AM, that it’s 28 degrees here in Longmont, CO but that is clearly incorrect. The same source reports 0 in Boulder, 7 degrees in Denver, and -7 in Kansas City, MO. The latter city saw one of its homeless shelters END emergency overnight sheltering a couple of months ago, in favor of the money-making scam of so-called transitional living for a lesser number of the homeless. I was both a client and later an employee at reStart back in 2005 and 2006. Of course, Longmont’s OUR Center did the same thing a year ago. Read ‘A new start for KC’s homeless as shelter eliminates daily lines for beds’ from 11/19/2013 (note: the link to report in Kansas City Star has expired, but you’ll get the gist of what’s happening there from my post).

Since all of my camping gear was taken in rather mysterious circumstances shortly before Christmas, I’m indeed fortunate to have a warm and dry place to stay indoors with my friends. I worry about old friends back in KC, however . . .

I went over to Boulder to update my locker at Boulder Shelter for the Homeless yesterday at 5PM (must be done every two weeks, but you get a week’s grace period after they put a warning notice up), when they open the gate to begin intake for the men’s and women’s emergency dorms, and a staff member asked if I was coming in for the night. I replied, “No, I’m just here to grab some stuff from my locker and update it.” In fact, the last night I stayed there was April 30, 2010. Part of keeping hold onto my peace of mind is avoiding the chaos which is any homeless shelter: noise, stench, and bad behavior in general. I also avoid the homeless people’s day center in Boulder, Bridge House, for the same reasons; I haven’t been there in almost 5 years. Nor have I ever spent the night at an emergency warming center operated by Boulder Outreach for Homeless Overflow in a network of local churches and a synagogue.

BTW, I asked the BSH volunteer in the back office if I had any mail and she said I didn’t. I hadn’t been there to check in about three weeks, so if you sent me a letter and it was returned to you that’s the reason; they return mail to sender if it’s not picked up in ten days or so. My apologies.

Remember, the mid-term elections for U.S. House and Senate are just 10 months away. Vote the Obamabots out of office! It’s true, health care in America costs more and we die sooner than people in a lot of other First World countries — but [WhodunitCare] is taking a bad situation and making it WORSE. This is an unforgivable FUBAR piece of legislation!

I was privileged to watch one of the greatest comebacks in NFL history on Saturday, thanks to free online streaming video provided by NBC. After trailing by 38-10 early in the 3rd quarter, the Indianapolis Colts rallied to gain a 45-44 win over the KC Chiefs. When QB Andrew Luck picked up his RB’s fumble at the Chiefs’ 5 yard line and ran up the middle to score, cutting the deficit to 41-38, I knew the Colts were going to pull it out:

5xl3n(Screenshot from NFL highlights video, with my text added)

I’m all alone in the house today. Maybe i’ll take a long winter’s nap . . .

Leave a Reply

