Max’s Journal 8/27/2013

By Max R. Weller

I did very well as humble beggar on the corner of N. Broadway & U.S. 36 Monday through Friday of last week: over $150 in about 13 hours. In addition, someone from my neighborhood stopped by my shady spot on Sunday to say hello and hand me a $20 bill. I now have a total of $60 in my coffee jar savings in the locker I keep at Boulder Shelter for the Homeless, and if donations continue to come in this way I’ll be making a shopping trip to Walmart sooner than I expected. However, after taking a break by choice over the weekend I couldn’t get out on the corner yesterday due to the return of [Denver] King, who loitered there for hours without making any money. When that phony Homeless Vet Dying of Lung Cancer wasn’t there, the spot was taken by a guy we call Hat Man (because he typically wears a fedora as he scams passersby for $$$ to get a weekend motel room for his kids). Hat Man is the guy who was quoted in my friend Terzah Becker’s guest post as saying, “I hate this fucking fascist country.” The other day this clown, who is apparently divorced from the Kuwaiti mother of his kids, told me he was going to have local authorities seize her passport whenever she shows up at DIA to return with her children to Kuwait. WTF? The locals wouldn’t consider dealing with a custody dispute in this way, not for a moment, and even the U.S. Department of State has no legal authority to do such a thing as seizing a foreign national’s passport. BTW, Hat Man is an chronic alcoholic and may suffer from “wet brain” — that would explain a lot.

Bums will steal anything. Example: one of ’em took the big trash bag I left in my shady spot for everyone’s use, after dumping out the trash it held. Hey, MORON! Want a trash bag for your very own? Go ask staff at BSH between 6 and 8AM any morning and they’ll gladly give you one.

I took along scrambled eggs, link sausages, and hash browns from the breakfast volunteers at BSH, and will eat it all for lunch today.

I looked on the Daily Camera website but found no news about the trial of accused rapist Jim Budd (scheduled to start yesterday). I hope the Boulder County DA doesn’t wimp out and go for a plea bargain with this arrogant scumbag, who has been the darling of many of the incompetent fools in our local homeless shelter/services industry.

To Oreo or not to Oreo? That is the question as I visit King Soopers this morning, after dropping off a library book at George Reynolds Branch across the street . . .

Leave a comment